Lester E. Janoff Memorial Award

Lester Janoff Memorial Award

This award was established by AOCLE in 2007 to honor Dr. Lester E. Janoff, an exceptional optometric educator, administrator, contact lens clinician and researcher. His professional career encompassed private practice, contact lens research for industry, and contact lens education at three optometry schools (Pennsylvania College of Optometry, New England College of Optometry and Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry). He was a Diplomate in the Cornea and Contact lens Section of the American Academy of Optometry and Associate Dean of NSUCO. Most importantly, this award was established to honor the memory of a beloved optometric mentor and friend.

This award is presented to an AOCLE member who has demonstrated excellence in the area of contact lens-related publications, contact lens education, and research. The criteria for the award include publications in refereed journals, textbooks or textbook chapters, and active participation in AOCLE events, past or present. Ideally, the recipient will show a broad range of contributions in the above areas with accomplishments that have had a positive impact upon our profession. Nominations should be submitted electronically to Dr. Andrea Janoff (NOVA) at janoffa@nova.edu. See attachment for more information.

Award Recipients
Eligibility Document for L. Janoff Award (pdf)

2022 – Jennifer Harthan – Illinois College of Optometry

2021 – Judy Perrigin (posthumously) – University of Houston College of Optometry

2019 – Lyndon B Jones – University of Waterloo School of Optometry

2018 – Bruce Morgan – Michigan College of Optometry

2017 – Etty Bitton – University of Montreal

2016 – William (Bill) Edmondson – Southern College of Optometry-Memphis

2015 – Heidi Wagner – Nova Southeastern University College of Optometry

2014 – Neil Pence – Indiana University School of Optometry

2013 – Vinita Henry – University of Missouri – St. Louis College of Optometry

2012 – Jan Jurkus – Illinois College of Optometry

2011 – Joel Silbert – PCO-SALUS

2010 – Langis Michaud – University of Montreal

2009 – Edward Bennett – University of Missouri – St. Louis College of Optometry

2008 – Luigina Sorbara – University of Waterloo School of Optometry